Correct: “I, too, love wikiHow. ” or “I too love wikiHow. ” Incorrect: “I too, love wikiHow. ” and “I, too love wikiHow,”

Say these 2 sentences out loud: “I, too, know how to juggle,” and “I too know how to juggle. ” The first one feels a bit slower and more thoughtful, right? Meanwhile, the second one has a more rapid flow.

A simple sentence like “I too love bagels” is pretty straightforward, meaning you’d probably be OK omitting commas. On the other hand, a longer sentence like “The Douglass triplets too go for walks in the evening” would benefit from being broken up by commas around “too. " Notice the difference: “The Douglass triplets, too, go for walks in the evening. "

While “Margaret loves tomatoes too” is grammatically correct, it’s unclear, out of context, if we mean “Margaret loves tomatoes, just like Gael does,” or “Margaret loves tomatoes in addition to potatoes. ” If your sentence isn’t clear on its own, you may need to rephrase.

Without a comma, “I love too that hamburgers go great with so many different toppings and condiments” runs on and on—you feel out of breath just reading it in your head, don’t you?

“Also” is usually used before a verb, as in “I also love sunshine,” and it usually doesn’t appear at the end of a sentence, like “too” sometimes does (for instance, in the sentence “I love sunshine too”).

Use “to” as an adverb to indicate that the subject of a sentence is moving toward something or becoming aware of something, just like in the sentence “My cat chose to knock all of my breakable knickknacks off my mantle. " Use “to” as a preposition to indicate the subject is going in a certain direction or to a certain location, like in the sentence “My cat ran to his food bowl when he heard me open a can of food. ”

You can also use “too” to indicate an excessive degree or amount—for instance, “I had too many mashed potatoes for dinner, and my stomach hurts. ” It can be hard to remember the difference between “to” and “too,” but a good way to remember that “too” means “also” or “in addition” is that “too” has an additional O.