“How is your sore throat?” “Are the roses wilting?” “When will you be home?” “Who made breakfast?”

For example, “I wonder if there’s ice in the freezer” is an indirect question that doesn’t need a question mark at the end. Another example of an indirect question that doesn’t need a question mark at the end is “She asked if you were going to the movies. "

“Could you send us a copy of that invoice as soon as possible. " “Will you please read the transcript back to me. " “Can I please take a look at that book. "

For example, “Do you want to go to the mall? it would be fun” is incorrect because “it” isn’t capitalized after the question mark. Instead, you would write “Do you want to go to the mall? It would be fun. "

For example, if you were quoting someone asking for their glasses, you would write “‘Can you bring me my glasses?’ she asked. "

For example, you would put the question mark outside of the quotation marks in “Who yelled, ‘The dog has escaped!’?”

“Do you know if Mark said, ‘Bring dinner’?” “Did you hear Steve say, ‘Go away’?” Was Mary just saying that she ‘Loves John’?”

For example, books such as Are You My Mother? or Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? both keep their question marks.

“‘Are you sure about that?’ she asked. " “Are You My Mother?, by P. D. Eastman, is a classic children’s book. "

An example of this would be, “Would they be able to pay for the trip? she wondered. " It may help to think of these question marks replacing where a comma would go. Another example is, “How will he get home? she thought. "

For example: “Would I have time to take my car, my photo album, my laptop, my favorite clothes and jewelry?” could change to, “Would I have time to take my car? My photo album? My laptop? My favorite clothes and jewelry?”

For example, “She lives in Virginia, doesn’t she?” Another example might be, “I want to visit the beach, do you?”